Academic Health Center
Stay Connected

U of M researchers named American Chemical Society 2013 Fellows

Gunda Georg, Ph.D., from the College of Pharmacy and Lisa Peterson, Ph.D., also from the College of Pharmacy and with an appointment in the School of Public Health, have been named American Chemical Society 2013 Fellows. The honor is awarded annually to 96 acclaimed scientists that have made important contributions to chemistry.

Gunda Georg

“These extraordinary scientific leaders are producing off-the-scale results that are improving our lives each and every day,” said American Chemical Society president Marinda Li Wu. “Their transforming work is vital in our efforts to overcome the many global challenges we now face.”

Georg’s research primarily centers around interdisciplinary projects and encompasses biochemistry, pharmacology, medicinal chemistry, pharmaceutical chemistry and reproductive biology. She is a co-inventor of LusedraTM, an intravenous sedative, Minnelide, a drug has hindered pancreatic cancer development in testing, and Gamedazol: a male contraceptive agent.

Peterson’s research contributions into the chemical mechanisms of carcinogenesis by tobacco smoke constituents, in particular, nitrosamines and furan. The Society also commended the professor for her active involvement in the Division of Chemical Toxicology since its inception, serving as chair of the bylaws committee, councilor and division chair.

The American Chemical Society was established in 2008 and is the world’s largest scientific society.



Join The Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *