Academic Health Center
Stay Connected

Two U of M researchers honored with prestigious NIH awards

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) recently recognized two University of Minnesota doctors for excellence in biomedical research. Demetris Yannopoulos, M.D., a Lillehei Heart Institute researcher and interventional cardiologist with University of Minnesota Physicians Heart at Fairview, received the Transformative Research award and Anna Tischler, Ph.D., a microbiologist within the University of Minnesota Medical School, was honored with the New Innovator award.

Yannopoulos received the award for innovative work in protection in the administration of CPR. His research proposal, “Reperfusion Injury Protection Strategies during Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation,” has shown encouraging results that could increase survival rate after cardiac arrest.

“This research shines a beacon of hope for the thousands of people that suffer from sudden cardiac arrest (SCA), Yannopoulos said. “More than 90 percent of Americans (295,000 people) that suffer SCA die in minutes.”

Yannopoulos, whose proposal was also written in conjunction with researchers from the Medical College of Wisconsin and the University of Michigan, will receive a grant of $5.4 million over five years.

Tischler’s award is intended to support researchers that received their terminal degree less than 10 years ago and have not yet received a Research Project Grant. Her work was recognized because of its potential to be particularly innovative. Tischler’s proposal is titled, “High-throughput Identification of Mycobacterium tuberculosis Persistence Mechanisms.

A grant of $1,500,000 over five years is expected for Tischler to conduct research.

Want to learn more? Check out the NIH press release here.

Join The Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *